X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Development

Hey people at Zygor,

Let's start at the start.
    I'm a developer (senior dev & teamlead) as profession and have been working with different languages and workflow philosophies for quite some time (~15 years).
    Working on (mostly) NodeJS infrastructures with Angular frontends on an Agile Scrum workflow and a (private) git-flow repository system, continues integration and DTAP.
    Because I work with these kind of systems/flows/ideas on a daily basis and see the merits of those structures named above, it got my wondering how you guys approach problems from a developers perspective.

Do you work in sprints with epics, stories, task, storypoints and the whole bunch? Or do you work more like a general issue board and pick up whichever happens to have the most (internal) votes.

I'd love to hear from you guys on this as you also have a potentially short release cycle, which can make things tricky at times.

Greetings from a fellow dev.
    /wave
    Last edited by xonefobic; July 26, 2016, 05:15 PM. Reason: Readability

Hey, I'm the main project manager here at Zygor. We've kind of developed our own personalized workflow over the years. Generally with any new project there are brainstorming sessions, conceptualization, mockups, prototypes, builds, and testing, testing, testing. Maintenance is handed with your general issue board. We use Jira for that. We're always trying to improve things though, and adopt more standard practices, but often old habits die hard, especially with such short release cycles like you said.
    Zygor Guides Creative Director

Comment

Yea, I know what you mean with "old habits die hard", I got a couple of my teammembers who really have issues with the 'stay in task' and 'two-week sprints'-mindsets.
      It takes time, but eventually it does bring some sort of zen mindset with it.